i’ve been…

trying to make the best of things.

My work schedule has been utterly craptastic.  Most days last week I did not work before 11am or noon.  This did give me a bit of a chance to catch up around the house – laundry,  separating the don’t fits from the fits in the girls’ dressers.  Allowed me to farm, attack, bite before going to work.

But it left me feeling a bit pressed to get enough work done to actually make any money…and to stick to nothing but work for the few hours I had on the schedule.

So last Sunday I had a conversation with myself.  The other myself.  The one who is frequently bossy and a know it all and high and mighty and someone I don’t really like that often, though usually she’s right.

The other me simply told the scrambled me (the me that usually takes center stage) to let the other me take the reigns for the day.  Just the day.  To listen to other me when I tell myself to just finish this job, now just the next one, the one after.  And when I got through that day, I had made more in a mere three hours than I’d made in an entire day the week before.  So I let the other me take over one day, one job at a time.  And I had a really great week.  Very sore hands and fingers but a great week.

And this weekend, I found that I didn’t want to reward myself with my farm or my mafia, I barely wanted to be on the computer at all.  This could have been, in part, due to March Madness.  I find basketball to be even more boring than baseball but Todd adores basketball so the TV was tuned into some basketball game all weekend.  I killed time on Saturday by going to the grocery store, cleaning up the house and then turned my attention to the basement.  I got all the cobwebs, cleaned out the drain in the washer, under the washer, and swept up all the cat hair I could get under the broom.

And then turned my attention to my craft desk.  More aptly the junk desk.  It’s the place everything gets dumped when I don’t know where else to put it.

The simple task of straightening it out, tossing a LOT into the garbage and putting things in order led me to tinkering with the crafty stuff in the drawers and then an idea was born.  I worked until 10 or so and then Todd and I passed out in bed by close to 10:30.

Sunday was a trip to Michaels for the girls to spend their birthday money and for me to use up my gift cards.  I actually only spent about $7.00 on a couple things of paint and a dowel.

I did get to my farm before anything withered.  And then planted 4 day crops because I just don’t feel like dealing with it.  But I have a bazillion requests to sort through and I just don’t feel like dealing with it.

I don’t have to work until noon again today.  So I’m shuffling laundry and emptying the dishwasher.  And I’m going to read.  A book.

My dog is constipated though doing better today than he was yesterday.  The other dog is very sad and forlorn and wants to play and is so out of sorts if someone sneezes she comes running, thinking it’s time to play.  I wish I spoke dog.

The element on our damned stove blew out last night – just as Todd had put a turkey breast inside to cook.  We had grilled turkey.  The stove is ancient, probably older than me (okay, that might be pushing it) and I have no idea how to even look for an element for it.  I guess that’s something I should look into today.  Whee!

Leave a Reply

