because…

There’s a rule around here about slamming doors.  Slam it and I take it.

I hate taking the door.  Not because I hate robbing them of one, I just generally deplore the activity level involved in wrasslin’ the 6+foot slab of presswood from the frame by myself and lugging the stupid thing downstairs.  Really, I’m more pissed off by having to remove the door than I am by the actual slamming of it.

Which makes me think I should re-think the rule.

Right now, I’m letting the rule slide because Alyssa is mad at me.  She hates me.  She said this before she slammed her door…twice.

I won’t let her ride her bike up to the school with her friend and his big sister.  I don’t have a 9-yr-old approved answer why I won’t.

I let her walk home from school.  I’d probably let her walk to school.

I keep her fairly close to home otherwise.  In fact, of her own choice she rarely leaves our circle.

I won’t let her ride up there because I don’t trust her.  She rides off the circle across the street without looking too often despite my nagging.  She stands on her seat and lifts one foot off despite my cries of “oh my god Alyssa, wait til I’m not looking!”  I don’t trust that she won’t haul ass down the hill home from school/the park and fly across the street without looking or that she’ll practice some new acrobatic just to see that she can.

Of course, none of that is an approved “official” answer to Alyssa.

And God help me if I use “because I said so”.

Leave a Reply

